

Reference: 397277

March 2, 2023

Loyal Wooldridge, Chairperson and Directors Regional District of Central Okanagan 1450 KLO Road Kelowna BC V1W 3Z4

Sent via email: chair@rdco.com

Dear Chairperson Wooldridge and Directors:

Thank you for your letter of February 7, 2023, addressed to the Honourable George Heyman, Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy, regarding Recycle BC's Packaging and Paper Product (PPP) Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) Plan. Minister Heyman has asked that I respond on his behalf.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Recycle BC's proposed program plan. The ministry's role is to review and approve EPR plans, and to monitor industry's performance in accordance with the approved plans, including ensuring programs, such as Recycle BC, provide the public with sufficient access to collection services for items covered by the program. The Recycle BC EPR plan is due to be submitted to the ministry for approval in April 2023. The ministry is monitoring all feedback regarding Recycle BC's proposed plan and its implications for consumers, operators and local governments within the PPP collection system.

Under subsection 5(i)(c)(iii), of the Recycling Regulation, the ministry reviews consumer access to services for each program as part of an EPR plan submission. The ministry expects EPR programs to demonstrate continuous improvement in this area. The ministry will take into consideration how the plan will be able to meet the obligations of PPP producers going forward while ensuring B.C. maintains its successful record of PPP recycling.

Telephone: 778 698-4908 Facsimile: 250 387-6003 Website: www.gov.bc.ca/env The ministry recognizes the challenges associated with providing convenient recycling solutions for rural communities and will continue to work with Recycle BC to provide services for residents in the Regional District of Central Okanagan and other communities across the province.

Thank you again for taking the time to write.

Sincerely,

Laurel Nash

Assistant Deputy Minister

Environmental Protection Division