

Electoral Area Services Committee Meeting Minutes

Date: Thursday, January 30, 2025

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Location: Woodhaven Board Room

1450 K.L.O. Road, Kelowna, BC

Committee Members: Director K. Kraft, Chair

Director W. Carson, Vice-Chair

Director P. Van Minsel
Director Loyal Wooldridge *

Councillor A. Alexander* (Alternate for A. Derrickson)

Committee Members

(absent)

Councillor A. Derrickson

Staff: S. Ginter, CAO

C. Griffiths, Corporate Officer

J. Foster, Director of Communications

T. McCabe, Director of Finance

D. Noble-Brandt, Director of Development and Engineering Services

T. Kendel, Associate Director of Engineering

M. VanZerr*, Manager of Regional Planning

S. Horning, Deputy Corporate Officer

S. Ballan-Brown, Corporate Services Executive Assistant (Recording

Secretary)

*Denotes partial attendance

1. CALL TO ORDER

The Corporate Officer called the meeting to order at 10:33 am and noted as an open meeting, a live audio-visual feed is being broadcast and recorded on rdco.com.

2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The Corporate Officer acknowledged our presence on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded tmxwúla?xw (land) of the syilx / Okanagan people who have resided here since time immemorial. We recognize, honour, and respect the syilx / Okanagan lands upon which we live, work, and play.

3. ELECTION OF THE CHAIR & VICE CHAIR

The Corporate Officer called for nominations for Chair of the Electoral Area Services Committee.

Director Kraft was nominated by Director Carson and seconded by Director Wooldridge. Director Kraft accepted the nomination.

The Corporate Officer called for further nominations and there being none, nominations were closed.

Director Kraft was declared elected as the Chair of the Committee for 2025 by acclamation.

The Corporate Officer called for nominations for Vice Chair of the Electoral Area Services Committee.

Director Carson was nominated by Director Kraft and seconded by Director Van Minsel. Director Carson accepted the nomination.

The Corporate Officer called for further nominations and there being none, nominations were closed.

Director Carson was declared elected as the Vice Chair of the Committee for 2025 by acclamation.

Director Kraft took over as Chair of the meeting at 10:37 am.

4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

WOOLDRIDGE/ CARSON

THAT the January 30, 2025, Electoral Area Services Committee meeting agenda be adopted.

CARRIED

5. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

WOOLDRIDGE/ CARSON

THAT the December 12, 2024 minutes of the Electoral Area Service Committee be adopted.

CARRIED

6. <u>DELEGATIONS</u>

6.1 BC Transit - Delegation Presentation

Bart Walman, Manager of Government Relations, BC Transit presented an overview of the service and responded to questions from the Committee.

WOOLDRIDGE/ CARSON

THAT the Electoral Area Services Committee receives the January 30, 2025, BC Transit delegation presentation, for information.

CARRIED

6.2 North Westside Community Association - Delegation Presentation regarding the North Westside Waste Transfer Station

Councillor Alexander joined the meeting at 10:58 a.m.

Josh Galloway, President, North Westside Community Association, provided a presentation regarding the North Westside Waste Transfer Station and responded to questions from the Committee.

Staff responded to questions from the Committee.

Director Wooldridge left the meeting at 11:25 a.m.

CARSON/ VAN MINSEL

THAT the Electoral Area Services Committee receives for information the January 30, 2025, delegation presentation from the North Westside Community Association regarding the North Westside Waste Transfer Station.

CARRIED

7. ADVOCACY

7.1 Inclusive Regional Governance Update

The CAO presented an update on the progress of the Intergovernmental Working Group and the progress on the Board's strategy priority of Inclusive Regional Governance and responded to questions from the Committee.

The CAO noted that Julia Buck, Westbank First Nation, was in attendance as a representative of the Intergovernmental Working Group.

VAN MINSEL/ CARSON

THAT the Electoral Area Services Committee receives the Inclusive Governance Update from the Chief Administrative Officer dated January 30, 2025 for information.

CARRIED

8. ADJOURN

The January 30, 2025, Electoral Area Services Committee adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

C. Griffiths, Corporate Officer	Director K. Kraft, Chair